Short answer
- Want free with no setup? Use a hosted free plan. quso.ai lists 75 credits a month, and Vizard and Opus Clip itself each list 60. Exports are capped at 720p on Vizard and quso.ai, and files expire after a few days.
- Want free with no monthly cap? Run an open-source clipper. FunClip and AI YouTube Shorts Generator are both MIT-licensed and can run on your own machine.
- Only need dead air removed? auto-editor cuts silence and stillness from a recording in one command. It does not pick viral moments, but it makes any later edit faster.
If you are still deciding whether Opus Clip’s own free plan is enough, start with our Opus Clip free plan breakdown.
Two kinds of “free”
“Free Opus Clip alternative” can mean two quite different things, and they fail in different ways.
Hosted free plans are the same cloud product you would pay for, with a smaller monthly allowance and some features held back. They take minutes to try and need nothing but a browser. The limits are the catch: a monthly cap on minutes of video, lower export resolution, short storage windows and sometimes a watermark.
Open-source tools are code you download and run. There is no monthly cap and no watermark, because your own computer does the work. The catch is effort: you install Python packages and models, you need a reasonably powerful machine for long videos, and you take responsibility for the parts a hosted product polishes, such as speaker tracking and caption styling. Some projects also call a paid AI model for the step that ranks moments, so “free” can still mean a small API bill.
Hosted free plans compared
These are the free tiers listed on each vendor’s pricing page on October 19, 2026. Opus Clip is included as the baseline.
| Tool | Monthly allowance | Export | Storage / export window | Other limits listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opus Clip (baseline) | 60 credits (1 credit = 1 minute of source video) | Up to 1080p | Clips no longer exportable after 3 days | Watermark; no editing |
| Vizard | 60 credits (1 credit = 1 minute of video) | 720p, up to 10 minutes per export | 3-day storage | Uploads up to 60 minutes and 1 GB; full editor; watermark removal is a paid feature |
| quso.ai | 75 credits (roughly 1 minute each) | 720p | 7-day data retention | Chapters and short videos, TikTok publishing and CutMagic included |
| 2short.ai | 30 minutes of AI video analysis on the plan card; another line on the same page says 15 | Not stated for Free | Not stated | Says Free has full access to all features |
Two details matter more than the headline allowance. First, the export window: on Opus Clip and Vizard you have only three days to download what you made, so process recordings when you have time to review them. Second, resolution: 720p looks fine on a phone but soft on a desktop, which matters if you also post clips to YouTube in landscape. The minute allowance itself is easy to stretch by trimming a recording before upload; our AI clipping cost-per-minute comparison shows what those same minutes cost once you pay.
We left Klap out of this table because its pricing page did not show a free plan in a form we could read on October 19, 2026. For paid plans and who each tool suits, see the full Opus Clip alternatives comparison.
Open-source clippers you run yourself
These projects are free to download and modify. They differ a lot in what they automate, so the table separates clip-finding tools from a pure cutting tool.
| Project | License | What it automates | How you use it | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FunClip | MIT | Transcription, speaker detection and LLM-assisted clip selection | Local web interface (Gradio) or command line | Built around Chinese speech models first; Python setup required |
| AI YouTube Shorts Generator | MIT | Highlight ranking, Whisper transcription and vertical cropping from a YouTube link | Command line or Python library | Ranking uses OpenAI or Gemini even in local mode; default mode calls a paid API |
| ClipsAI | MIT | Transcript-based clip finding and speaker-aware 9:16 resizing | Python library (you write the code) | Made for talk-heavy video; repository not updated since January 2024 |
| auto-editor | Unlicense | Cutting silence and stillness | Command line | Does not choose highlights or reframe |
FunClip: local, LLM-assisted clipping
FunClip is published by the ModelScope organization on GitHub and describes itself as a fully open-source, locally deployed video clipping tool. It transcribes a video with the open FunASR speech models from Alibaba’s Tongyi speech lab, lets you pick text segments or a specific speaker from the transcript, and cuts the matching clips with subtitles. Its README also promotes an AI clipping mode that asks a large language model to choose the segments. It runs as a Gradio web interface on your own computer or a server, and the latest release listed on October 19, 2026 was v2.2.1 from September 1, 2026.
The speech models are strongest in Chinese; the README’s roadmap marks Whisper support for English users as done, but plan to test English accuracy on your own footage. Best for: technical creators who want a local, scriptable clipper with a visual interface. Not for: anyone who wants automatic vertical reframing and styled captions without extra work.
AI YouTube Shorts Generator: the closest open-source “Opus Clip”
This MIT-licensed project openly positions itself as an open-source alternative to Opus Clip, Vidyo.ai, Klap and Submagic. You give it a YouTube link and it returns ranked 9:16 shorts, each with a score, a hook line and a one-sentence reason. Long videos are split into overlapping chunks, overlapping highlights are deduplicated, and it can output JSON for automation.
Read the modes carefully. The default mode sends downloading, transcription and cropping to MuAPI, a paid service promoted in the README. The local mode runs on your machine with yt-dlp, faster-whisper and ffmpeg/OpenCV, with face tracking for the vertical crop, but still asks OpenAI or Gemini to rank highlights, so you need an API key and pay for those calls. The README itself sums it up as free and open source, “pay only for API usage”.
Best for: developers who want an Opus Clip–style pipeline they can modify or batch. Not for: anyone expecting zero cost and zero setup.
ClipsAI: a library, not an app
ClipsAI is an open-source Python library that segments long videos into clips using the transcript (via WhisperX) and resizes them from 16:9 to 9:16 by following the active speaker. Its README says it is designed for audio-centric, narrative video such as podcasts, interviews, speeches and sermons, and that resizing needs a Hugging Face access token for the speaker-detection model. The repository had not been updated since January 2024 when we checked, so expect to fix dependencies yourself. Best for: developers building their own podcast clipping tool.
auto-editor: free first-pass cutting
auto-editor is a command-line tool that edits a recording automatically, by default cutting the “dead space” where audio is quiet. It can also cut by motion, add padding around cuts, speed up sections instead of removing them, and export a timeline to Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro, Shotcut or Kdenlive. It will not find your best moments, but running it before an AI clipper, or before editing by hand, removes the pauses that waste both your time and any per-minute allowance. The project also publishes an agent skill, which makes it a common building block in Claude Code video editing workflows.
What “free” really costs
- Your time. Installing Python, models and ffmpeg can take an afternoon the first time. A hosted free plan takes minutes.
- Your hardware. Transcribing and rendering hours of video locally is slow without a capable graphics card.
- Model calls. Projects that ask OpenAI or Gemini to rank highlights pass that cost to you, usually small per video but not zero.
- Polish. Hosted tools bundle caption styles, brand templates, scheduling and reframing that you would otherwise rebuild.
- Limits on hosted plans. Watermarks, 720p exports and 3- to 7-day storage windows mean free hosted output is usually for testing, not publishing at scale.
If you post a few clips a month, a hosted free plan or a single paid month is usually cheaper than your setup time. If you clip daily, or want to change how highlights are chosen, open source starts to pay off. Our Opus Clip pricing breakdown shows where the paid plans begin.
Which free option fits you
| If you… | Start with |
|---|---|
| want to test AI clipping today, no install | quso.ai or Vizard free plan, with Opus Clip Free as the comparison |
| publish in landscape and care about resolution | Opus Clip Free (up to 1080p, watermarked) or a paid month |
| are a developer who wants an Opus Clip–style pipeline | AI YouTube Shorts Generator |
| want a local visual interface, especially for Chinese speech | FunClip |
| are building your own podcast clipper | ClipsAI |
| just want pauses removed before editing | auto-editor |
How to compare free tools fairly
- Pick one recording, ideally 20 to 40 minutes, so it fits every free allowance above.
- Before uploading, note the five moments you would clip by hand.
- Run it through one hosted free plan and one open-source tool with similar settings: 9:16, captions on, similar clip length.
- Count how many of your five moments each found and how many other clips you would actually post.
- Record your total time, including setup, and any API charges.
Usable clips per hour of your time is the number that decides it. Our testing protocol lists every field we record when we run these comparisons ourselves.
How we built this page
We started from the free tiers already tracked in our Opus Clip research and re-read each vendor’s pricing page on October 19, 2026. For open-source tools we kept projects that are actively described as clipping or cutting tools, read each repository’s README and license, and noted when a project had not been updated recently. Where a page was unclear or contradicted itself, as with 2short.ai’s free minutes, we show both figures rather than pick one. No vendor or project paid for inclusion and there are no affiliate links.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free alternative to Opus Clip?
Yes. Vizard, quso.ai and 2short.ai publish free plans with a monthly allowance of minutes or credits, and open-source projects such as FunClip and AI YouTube Shorts Generator can be run on your own computer at no software cost. Each free option has a different limit, so compare the one that matters to you.
Which free Opus Clip alternative gives the most minutes?
Among the hosted free plans we checked on October 19, 2026, quso.ai listed the largest allowance at 75 credits a month, which it says is roughly 75 minutes. Opus Clip and Vizard each listed 60 credits a month, one credit per minute of video.
Can I run an AI clipping tool locally for free?
Yes, if you are comfortable with Python and the command line. FunClip runs as a local web interface, and AI YouTube Shorts Generator has a local mode built on yt-dlp, faster-whisper and ffmpeg. You need a capable computer, and some local setups still call a paid language model to rank highlights.
Do free AI clipping tools add a watermark?
Some do. Opus Clip lists a watermark on its Free plan, and Vizard lists watermark removal as a paid-plan feature. Open-source tools do not add a watermark because you render the files yourself.
Is open-source clipping as good as Opus Clip?
We have not measured it yet, so we cannot say. Open-source projects give you control and no monthly fee, but they leave setup, reframing quality and highlight ranking to you. Test one recording through both before deciding.
Sources
Vendor facts on this page come from these public pages, checked October 19, 2026. Prices and plan limits change; confirm them at checkout.