Is Kling AI free?
Yes, with limits. Kling AI’s Basic plan costs $0 and is labelled free forever. But on October 21, 2026 the plan comparison listed no monthly credits for Basic, and every feature you need to publish professionally was marked for paid plans: brand watermark removal, 1080p/4K video generation, video extension, more than one video per generation and commercial use of generated content. Daily free credits are listed as a subscriber benefit.
So a free Kling account is a way to explore the interface and test prompts with whatever promotional credits Kling is running, not a way to produce client work. The cheapest paid plan, Standard, was $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 a month after that; details are in Kling AI pricing.
Free plans side by side
| Free plan | Allowance | Watermark | Length / quality | Commercial use | The catch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kling AI Basic | No monthly credits in the plan table; promotional credits vary (amount unverified) | Yes (watermark removal is a paid benefit) | 1 video per generation; no 1080p/4K | No ("generated content is for commercial use" is listed for paid plans only) | Daily free credits are listed as a subscriber benefit, not a Basic one | Vendor page |
| HeyGen Free | 3 videos a month | Yes | Up to 1 minute each | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | 30+ languages on Free versus 175+ on Creator | Vendor page |
| Runway Free | 125 credits once, no expiry | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | 125 credits is about 10 seconds of Gen-4.5 at 12 credits a second (our arithmetic) | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | The grant does not refill each month | Vendor page |
| CapCut Free | Free templates and basic editing tools | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | No AI credit allowance shown for Free | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | AI credits start on Pro (1,200 a month) | Vendor page |
| Opus Clip Free | 60 credits a month (60 minutes of source video) | Yes | Up to 1080p clips; no editing | Not stated on the pricing page (unverified) | Clips can no longer be exported after 3 days | Vendor page |
“Unverified” means the vendor’s pricing page did not state it when we checked. It may be covered in the vendor’s terms or help center; check there before relying on it.
Kling AI free plan in detail
The Kling membership page compares Basic with the four paid plans row by row. Basic gets an element library of 30 items against 50 to 500 on paid plans. It is limited to one video per generation, where paid plans allow four. The rows for 1080p/4K generation, video extension, 4K images, image upscaling, unlimited multi-track generation, accelerated access, commercial use and watermark removal are all blank for Basic.
Free credits are where most confusion comes from. Older guides quote a fixed daily amount for every account. Kling’s current page lists “Daily Free Credits for Subscribers”, and its credit policy describes login credits as available to subscribers during events, in amounts “subject to platform announcement”. Promotional credits for new or free accounts follow event rules shown at the time. We could not confirm a fixed free-credit number for Basic, so we do not quote one.
If you only need a few test generations, sign up, look at the credit balance Kling shows your account, and spend it on prompts you would otherwise pay to test. If you need a clean, commercially usable file, budget for Standard.
The other free tiers
HeyGen Free
Three watermarked videos a month, up to one minute each, with Avatar IV, Video Agent, one custom video avatar and 500+ stock presenters in 30+ languages. It is the most useful free tier for testing presenter-style videos. Paid plans and credits are covered in HeyGen pricing.
Runway Free
A one-time deposit of 125 credits that does not expire. At the 12 credits per second Runway gives for Gen-4.5, that is about 10 seconds of Gen-4.5 video (our arithmetic), or more images. It does not refill; see Runway pricing.
CapCut Free
Free templates and basic editing tools. CapCut’s AI credit allowance starts on Pro (1,200 monthly AI credits at USD 19.99 a month), so the free tier is an editor rather than a generator.
Opus Clip Free
Opus Clip clips existing video rather than generating new footage. Its free plan gives 60 credits a month (one credit per minute of source video), up to 1080p clips with auto reframe and AI captions, a watermark, no editing, and clips that can no longer be exported after 3 days. The full rules, the trial and the watermark are covered in Is Opus Clip free?, and free clipping options are compared in free Opus Clip alternatives.
Getting the most from a free tier
- Write prompts offline first. Every failed generation spends credits you cannot get back on a free plan (Kling refunds failed generations, but not ones you simply dislike).
- Test at the lowest setting. Use short durations and lower resolutions to judge motion and composition, then pay for the final render.
- Keep one test per tool. Run the same prompt or script in each free tier so you compare outputs, not marketing pages.
- Read the watermark and licence rows. A free file you cannot use commercially is a storyboard, not a deliverable.
When to upgrade
Upgrade when the free tier blocks the output, not when it is merely slow. For most people that point is the watermark or the licence. The cheapest paid plans on October 21, 2026 were Kling AI Standard ($6.99 first month, then $8.80), Runway Standard ($12 a month billed annually), Opus Clip Starter ($15), CapCut Pro (USD 19.99) and HeyGen Creator ($29 a month, $24 billed annually). All of them are in the AI video pricing tracker, and the AI video generator picker matches them to marketing, YouTube and TikTok work.
Frequently asked questions
Is Kling AI free?
Kling AI has a free Basic plan, listed as free forever on its membership page on October 21, 2026. The plan table lists no monthly credits for Basic, and watermark removal, 1080p/4K and commercial use are listed for paid plans only.
How many free credits does Kling AI give?
The membership page does not publish a number for Basic accounts, and daily free credits are listed as a subscriber benefit. Kling’s credit policy says promotional credits follow the event rules shown at the time, so any specific free-credit figure is unverified.
Can I use Kling AI free videos commercially?
Not according to the plan table: “generated content is for commercial use” is marked for paid plans and not for Basic.
Which AI video tool has the most generous free plan?
It depends on what you need. HeyGen Free gives 3 one-minute avatar videos a month with a watermark. Runway gives 125 credits once. Opus Clip Free gives 60 minutes of source video a month for clipping. None of them is enough for regular publishing without a watermark.
What is the cheapest way off the Kling AI free plan?
Standard, at $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 a month after that for 660 credits, was the lowest paid Kling plan on October 21, 2026. It adds watermark removal, 1080p/4K generation and commercial use.
Sources
Vendor facts on this page come from these public pages, checked October 21, 2026. Prices and plan limits change; confirm them at checkout.