Captions AI plans at a glance
Captions AI pricing has a free plan, three paid tiers for individuals (Basic, Max and Frontier, with Frontier sold in 1x, 2x and 4x sizes), an Android-only Lite plan and custom Enterprise pricing. Basic was formerly called Pro, and Frontier was formerly called Scale; Captions says only the names changed, not features or prices.
| Plan | Price | Credits a month | Per 100 credits (our arithmetic) | Where listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 60–200 one-time, do not refresh (help center); “None” (pricing table) | — | Help center and pricing page |
| Lite (Android only) | $4.99 | Not stated | — | Help center |
| Basic | $9.99 | 200 | $5.00 | Help center |
| Max | $24.99 | 500 | $5.00 | Pricing page and help center |
| Frontier | $69.99 | 1,400 | $5.00 | Pricing page and help center |
| Frontier 2x | $139.99 | 2,800 | $5.00 | Pricing page and help center |
| Frontier 4x | $279.99 | 5,600 | $5.00 | Pricing page and help center |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom, with bulk credit discounts | — | Pricing page |
Sources: Captions pricing and Captions Help: Understanding Credits, checked October 23, 2026. The pricing page says “All prices displayed in USD. Features and prices reflect iOS plans only.” The help center says you may see prices in your local currency at checkout, above or below the USD price.
The most useful thing the table shows is that credits cost the same on every paid tier: $9.99 for 200, $24.99 for 500, $69.99 for 1,400, $139.99 for 2,800 and $279.99 for 5,600 all work out to about $5 per 100 credits, or 5 cents a credit (our arithmetic from Captions’ list prices). Moving up a tier does not make credits cheaper. It buys more of them and unlocks features. Only Enterprise mentions bulk credit discounts.
Captions also sells yearly plans. Its help center says yearly subscriptions come with an automatic discount compared with 12 months of monthly pricing, but neither page we read prints the yearly price or the size of the discount, so we do not quote one.
What each Captions plan unlocks
Credits are only half the story. Several AI features are locked to Max and above, and using them on a lower plan puts a watermark on your export.
- Free: basic editing with Captions, Camera, Trim, Zoom, Sounds, Media, Voiceover, Transitions and Resize Video, one caption template (“Eclipse”) and exports with no watermark. Using any other feature prompts an upgrade.
- Lite ($4.99, Android only): manual editing tools on Android, including importing, adding and translating captions, dubbing, caption styles, the teleprompter, AI Eye Contact and Denoise. Captions says Lite works only on Android; using Captions on iPhone or desktop needs a separate Basic, Max or Frontier subscription.
- Basic ($9.99): project creation and exports with no watermark, Reddit to Video, the script generator, camera and teleprompter, caption and dub, and AI-powered editing tools: Eye Contact, Denoise, Censor, Zoom, Voiceover, Title Card, Text and Trim.
- Max ($24.99): everything in Basic plus Chat to Edit, AI Edit, Clips, Mirage-generated actors, up to 30 AI Twins, up to 2 concurrent video generations, and selectable models for AI-generated media, sound effects and music.
- Frontier ($69.99 and up): everything in Max, more AI usage with the 2x and 4x tiers, faster generations, and what the pricing page calls “our most sophisticated tier of generative AI models”.
The help center’s model table shows the same split: image and video generation models (Flux, Imagen, GPT-4o, Veo 3, Kling, Pika, Ray 2, MiniMax and others) are available on Max and Frontier only, while AI voice models such as ElevenLabs Multilingual v2 and OpenAI TTS, and sound-effect models, start at Basic. The pricing page’s comparison table lists 1 caption template on Free and 100+ on Max and Frontier.
The watermark rule matters if you are deciding between Basic and Max. Captions’ troubleshooting page says that if you use Co-Editor, AI Edit, AI-generated images or videos, or AI Creator (for non-grandfathered users) on a Basic plan, your export will include a watermark. Remove those features or upgrade to Max to export clean.
How Captions credits work
- Everything AI uses credits: generating images, video, sounds, music and voiceovers, prompt-to-video projects and AI Edits all draw from your monthly allowance. Credits are used whether or not you export or save the project.
- Monthly refresh: paid credits renew each month on your subscription date. Free users get a one-time allotment.
- Rollover, capped at 3×: on Basic and above, unused credits carry into the next billing period. Your total balance is capped at three times your monthly allowance, so on Max the cap is 1,500 credits (our arithmetic).
- Plan changes: upgrading leaves your existing credits alone. Downgrading immediately reduces your balance to the new plan’s cap and any excess is forfeited.
- Cancelling: credits stay usable until the end of the paid period, then all remaining credits are forfeited.
- Running out: Captions says you cannot buy individual credits; you upgrade to the next plan instead. Top-up credits exist only for existing Teams or Business customers and Frontier 4x users, and unused top-ups carry over.
Source: Captions Help: Understanding Credits, last modified September 21, 2026, checked October 23, 2026.
Credit cost per AI feature and model
Captions publishes a credit price for each AI feature and for each third-party model it offers. The project-level costs are averages; Captions says actual costs vary with video duration, model and algorithm choices.
| Feature | Credits (Captions) | At 5¢ a credit (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|
| Prompt to Video | 16 credits every 6 seconds | About $0.80 per 6 seconds, $8 per minute |
| AI Edit | 10–40 credits | $0.50–$2.00 |
| AI Edit clip style change | 1 credit | $0.05 |
| GenAI image | 1–3 credits | $0.05–$0.15 |
| GenAI video | 1–20 credits | $0.05–$1.00 |
| GenAI music | 1–2 credits | $0.05–$0.10 |
| Chat-based editing | 2 credits per message, 1 per action, plus any GenAI requests | $0.10 per message plus $0.05 per action |
The model-specific list is where generated video gets expensive. A selection of the video models Captions lists, with its credit price per generation:
| Model | Credits (Captions) | At 5¢ a credit (our arithmetic) | Generations from Max’s 500 credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Veo 3 / Veo 3.1 (4 seconds) | 64 | $3.20 | 7 |
| Google Veo 3 Fast / Veo 3.1 Fast (6 seconds) | 36 | $1.80 | 13 |
| Google Veo 2 | 100 | $5.00 | 5 |
| Kling 2.1 | 140 | $7.00 | 3 |
| Kling 1.6 | 40 | $2.00 | 12 |
| Ray 2 | 80 | $4.00 | 6 |
| Seedance 2.0 | 61 | $3.05 | 8 |
| Minimax | 56 | $2.80 | 8 |
| Pika 2.2 | 20 | $1.00 | 25 |
| Sora 2 | 16 | $0.80 | 31 |
| Grok Imagine Video | 11 | $0.55 | 45 |
| Hailuo 2.3 Fast | 8 | $0.40 | 62 |
Source: Captions Help: Understanding Credits, checked October 23, 2026. Captions states clip length only for the Veo models; for the others the credit price is per generation and the clip length is not stated. Generation counts ignore rollover and any other credits the project uses.
Images are cheap by comparison: most image models cost 1–3 credits (Nano Banana Pro is 6, and Ideogram V3 Turbo with character reference is 4). Music ranges from 2 credits for Soundraw to 10 for ElevenLabs Music, sound effects cost 2 credits and audio isolation 2 credits a minute. If you want to compare these per-clip prices with buying the model directly, see Veo pricing, Kling AI pricing and Seedance pricing.
What a month of credits buys
Captions says the number of videos you can make each month depends on which generative AI features you add. As a single benchmark, here is how many seconds of Prompt to Video each plan’s monthly credits cover at Captions’ listed rate of 16 credits per 6 seconds, with nothing else in the project. We list Max and above because Captions locks AI-generated media to Max; we did not find the exact plan gate for Prompt to Video stated on the pages we read.
| Plan | Credits | 6-second blocks | About |
|---|---|---|---|
| Max ($24.99) | 500 | 31 | 3 minutes |
| Frontier ($69.99) | 1,400 | 87 | 8.7 minutes |
| Frontier 2x ($139.99) | 2,800 | 175 | 17.5 minutes |
| Frontier 4x ($279.99) | 5,600 | 350 | 35 minutes |
These are upper bounds from a single listed rate, not tested output. Chat edits, regenerated shots, B-roll, music and voiceovers all come out of the same pool, and Captions says credits are spent even on projects you never export. We have not run a Captions project ourselves for this page, so treat the table as a budgeting guide, not a measured result.
The free Captions plan
The free plan is for basic editing, not AI generation. Captions’ help center describes it as a good option if you are not interested in video generation, automatic editing or AI Editing, and lists project creation and exports with Captions, Camera, Trim, Zoom, Sounds, Media, Voiceover, Transitions and Resize Video, plus one template, “Eclipse”, and no watermarks.
The two official pages disagree on credits. The help center’s plans and credits pages say free users get 60–200 lifetime credits that do not refresh. The pricing page’s comparison table lists AI usage credits on Free as “None”. We could not confirm which applies to a new account today, so treat any free AI usage as small and one-off. For free plans that refresh, compare AI video free plans and whether CapCut is free.
Billing, platforms and refunds
- Where you pay decides the rules. Captions bills through the Apple App Store, Google Play or its own website (Stripe). App Store subscriptions are tied to your Apple ID, Google Play subscriptions to your Google account, and website subscriptions to the login method you signed up with.
- Auto-renewal: subscriptions renew unless cancelled at least 24 hours before the end of the billing period.
- Refunds: App Store and Google Play refunds are handled by Apple and Google. For website purchases, Captions says monthly plans are non-refundable, but you can cancel anytime to avoid future charges. The help center does not state a yearly-plan refund rule.
- Switching plans: upgrades apply immediately and are prorated for the rest of the billing period; downgrades take effect at the end of the cycle.
- Sharing: subscriptions are for single users and cannot be shared. Teams and Business customers on legacy plans can now add seats without the previous $40-per-seat cost.
- VAT invoices: available when buying on the website as a business; Apple does not support adding a VAT number.
Sources: Captions Help: Manage Subscription & Billing, Subscriptions & Plans and the pricing page FAQ, checked October 23, 2026.
Which Captions plan to choose
- Captions and simple phone edits only: the free plan, or Lite at $4.99 if you edit only on Android.
- Talking-head videos with AI cleanup: Basic at $9.99 covers eye contact, denoise, AI voiceover and captions. Avoid AI Edit and generated media on Basic, or your export gets a watermark.
- AI Edit, Clips, AI actors or generated B-roll: Max at $24.99 is the entry point for these features, with 500 credits and up to 30 AI Twins.
- Several AI videos a week: Frontier. Because every tier costs about 5 cents a credit, pick the tier by how many credits you burn, and remember the 3× rollover cap if you have quiet months.
- Teams needing bulk credits or data exclusion: Enterprise, the only tier Captions says has bulk credit discounts and training data exclusion.
Captions against other AI video tools
Captions sits between a mobile editor and an AI avatar tool. If you mainly need avatar or presenter video, compare it with HeyGen pricing and the list of HeyGen alternatives. If you mainly edit and caption footage you shot yourself, CapCut Pro and Descript are the usual comparisons, and Submagic alternatives covers caption-first apps. For every tool side by side, use the AI video pricing tracker.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Captions AI cost?
On October 23, 2026 Captions’ help center listed Basic at US$9.99 a month with 200 credits, Max at US$24.99 with 500 credits, Frontier at US$69.99 with 1,400 credits, Frontier 2x at US$139.99 with 2,800 credits and Frontier 4x at US$279.99 with 5,600 credits. The public pricing page shows Max and the three Frontier tiers and notes that prices reflect iOS plans only. Enterprise is custom.
Is Captions AI free?
There is a free plan for basic editing: captions, camera, trim, zoom, sounds, media, voiceover, transitions and resizing, one caption template and exports without a watermark. Captions’ help center says free users get a one-time allotment of 60 to 200 credits that does not refresh, while the pricing page’s comparison table lists AI usage credits on Free as “None”.
Do Captions credits roll over?
Yes, on Basic and above. Captions says unused credits roll over, and your balance is capped at 3× your monthly allowance (the current month plus up to two months of rollover). Downgrading cuts your balance to the new plan’s cap, and when a subscription ends any remaining credits are forfeited.
Can I buy extra Captions credits?
Mostly no. Captions’ help center says it is not possible to buy individual credits and that you upgrade to the next plan to get more. Top-up credits are available only to existing Teams or Business customers and Frontier 4x users.
Why does my Captions export have a watermark?
Captions says that if you use Max-only features on a Basic plan, such as AI Edit, AI-generated images or videos, Co-Editor or AI Creator (for non-grandfathered users), the export includes a watermark. Remove those features or upgrade to Max to export without one.
Does Captions offer refunds?
It depends on where you paid. App Store and Google Play refunds go through Apple or Google. For purchases on Captions’ website, the help center says monthly plans are non-refundable but can be cancelled at any time to avoid future charges.
Sources
Vendor facts on this page come from these public pages, checked October 23, 2026. Prices and plan limits change; confirm them at checkout.
- Captions: Pricing and plans
- Captions Help: Subscriptions & Plans (last modified Sep 21, 2026)
- Captions Help: Understanding Credits (last modified Sep 21, 2026)
- Captions Help: Manage Subscription & Billing (last modified Jul 29, 2026)
- Captions Help: Watermark on Exported Video (last modified Sep 21, 2026)